Hello, everyone!

This is the first installment in my Woodwork Wednesday series!

Recently I’ve been working on a bookcase/bookshelf that I got for free off of the side of the road from a tag sale. I wish I had taken a before picture but I wasn’t really into the full swing of blogging back then, so oh well. So here’s some background: the bookcase was sturdy, made of some type of wood (probably pine), but had a particle back (which maybe I can change…because one time I had something very important to me break for that reason). It also had chipping brown paint so that immediately made me think that I wanted to sand it down and finish it.

A few weeks ago (I know, a long drawn out project) I began sanding it with the power sander (so much better than just manual!) and found that it also had a red layer of paint beneath it as well as a weird grey one. So far I’ve got the top very smooth and I’m filling in the cracks with wood putty. So I’ve got to get going and finish the rest! Instead of staining it, I’m going to paint it this very pretty blue because I wanted to experiment with painted wood as everything else in my house is stained.

I will be posting pictures, and I’ve got so many projects lined up!

Thanks for stopping by. Hope to see you back!

Blogging Signaturetiffanylynnsblog picture

